Sinclair Hosts High School DayTony Awards

Each year the Dayton Theatre Hall of Fame recognizes excellence in theatre arts in the Miami Valley with the presentation of DayTony awards.

On June 15, area high schools were recognized and honored at Light Up the Night, a gala celebration in Blair Hall.

Eleven schools submitted 25 productions for recognition of excellence and merit, and 154 medals were awarded. In all, the evening celebrated 510 nominees and more than 1,000 students, parents, teachers and community volunteers, without whom these productions would not be possible.

Thanks to the staff of Sinclair's Theatre Department for their assistance in ensuring the success of the night's festivities.

The Annual DayTony Awards honoring community and collegiate theatre in the Miami Valley will also take place at Sinclair this year. It will be held in the Charity Early Auditorium on August 3. Dinner or event-only options are available to anyone who'd like to celebrate theatre at the Sinclair Tickets page. Hall of Fame inductees for 2013 will be: John Kenley, Chris Harmon, Darrell Anderson and Kay Francis Wean.