Dr. Steven Lee Johnson

Dr. Steven Lee Johnson
President and CEO, Sinclair College

Dr. Steven Johnson is serving in his 11th year as president of Sinclair College in Dayton, Ohio. Sinclair is one of the oldest community colleges in the nation and serves over 40,000 unduplicated college credit students a year, and has a $135 million annual budget.

During Dr. Johnson’s presidency, Sinclair has experienced continued extraordinary student enrollment growth, improvement in student success rates, and a remarkable expansion of service territory to include three learning centers and a new 70 acre campus in Mason, Ohio. Even with significant state and community financial challenges, Sinclair offers the lowest tuition in Ohio, has no debt, and has no significant deferred maintenance. With 3,500 employees, Sinclair is among the ten largest employers in the Dayton region and has twice been voted by its employees as a top place to work in the area.

Dr. Johnson has been named regional leader of the year, and was named by the Dayton Business Journal as among the top leaders of the decade for the Dayton region, and as one of the “12 Most Influential People” of 2012. He has also been honored as Humanitarian of the Year by the National Conference for Community and Justice. President Johnson is the past board chair of the League for Innovation in the Community College. He is a past co-chair of the annual campaign for the United Way of Greater Dayton, and serves on a number of local non-profit boards.

Dr. Johnson holds a bachelor’s degree in marketing and public relations from the University of Wisconsin-Superior, a master’s degree in higher education administration from Iowa State University, and a Ph.D. in educational administration from the University of Texas-Austin.

President’s Cabinet

Mitchell Bailey   Jeff Boudouris   Dr. Annesa Cheek   Dr. Kathleen Cleary   Dr. Dave Collins   Dr. Tony Cruz
Mitchell Bailey
Chief of Staff
  Jeff Boudouris
Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
  Dr. Annesa Cheek
Vice President for School and Community Partnerships
  Dr. Kathleen Cleary
Associate Provost for Student Completion
  Dr. Dave Collins
  Dr. Tony Cruz
Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
Dr. Mary Gaier   Madeline Iseli   Dr. Scott Markland   Deb Norris   Dr. Ty Stone   Dr. Ty Stone
Dr. Mary Gaier
Vice President for Organizational Development
  Madeline Iseli
Vice President for Advancement
  Dr. Scott Markland
Vice President for Regional Centers
  Deb Norris
Vice President for Workforce Development & Corporate Services
  Dr. Ty Stone
Vice President for Business Operations
  Dr. Lori Zakel
Associate Provost