Dental Hygiene Program Advisory Committee

This committee is the primary liaison between the community dentists and dental hygienists and the dental hygiene program.

The Dayton Dental Society, Dayton Dental Hygiene Association, Dayton Dental Assistant Association and other selected organizations may be requested to serve on the Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee.  The members should be actively engaged in their profession and members of their professional organization.



The Advisory Committee shall consist of at least the following representatives:

Members from Dayton Dental Society


Periodontist affiliated with the Dayton Dental Society


Members from the Dayton Dental Hygienist Association


Member from the Ohio Dental Expanded Functions Association


Representative from Gem City Medical/Dental/Pharmaceutical Association


SCC Health Sciences Academic Advisor


Senior Dental Hygiene Student


Recent Graduate from SCC Dental Hygiene Program


Dean of Health Sciences


Chairperson of Dental Health Sciences


Fulltime Dental Health Sciences Faculty (Ex-officio members)




1.  Representatives of individual organization - maintain communication between school and organization.

2.  Advise the dental hygiene program concerning employment, graduates' work and student training.

3.  Assist in recruiting applicants.

4.  Recommend equipment and materials.

5.  Work on screening and accreditation committees. 

Meetings: Two (2) meetings per year (October & April)


Advisory Committee:


Liz Atchley, RDH, BS

Dayton Dental Hygienists' Association Member

Theresa Bonn, RDH, BS

Past Graduate Sinclair Dental Hygiene 2003

Pam Edwards, RDH, MS

Professor, Dental Health Sciences

Sheranita Hemphill, MS, MPH

Professor, Dental Health Sciences

Stephen Holliday, DDS

Professor, Dental Health Sciences

Glenn Jividen, Jr., DDS

Periodontist, Private Practice

Bonita Kipling, DDS

Dentist, Community Practice

Catherine Lawler, DDS

Dentist, Private Practice

Major Lee, DDS

Dentist, Private Practice

Debbie Mangan, CDA, EFDA

ODEFA Association Member

Kathy Caufield

Student Dental Hygienist

Richard Morgan, DDS

Dentist, Private Practice

Ann Naber, RDH

Dayton Dental Hygienists' Association Member

Sue Raffee, RDH, MSA

Chairperson, Professor, Dental Health Sciences

Rena Shuchat, RDH, MS

Dean, Health Sciences

Kitty Strehle, RDH, RN

Dayton Dental Hygienists' Association Member

Patricia Willis, MA

SCC Senior Academic Advisor




Important Information about Health Sciences Programs: The Health Sciences (HS) Programs consist of open enrollment courses (general education and division specific) and program specific courses with limited enrollment. The open enrollment courses may be taken prior to entry into the limited enrollment courses. To qualify for entry to limited enrollment courses, please see the program specific information packet located on each HS program's webpage.