Unsung Hero Award Recipients Announced

The Appalachian Outreach and Appalachian Studies Departments hosted the 15th Annual Appalachian Unsung Hero Awards Friday, May 6th, with approximately 120 guests and award recipients in attendance.

Award winners from the local community were recognized for their contributions to the Appalachian communities in the Dayton area. A special congratulations to Sinclair employees and students (in bold) for their outstanding efforts! The 2011 Unsung Hero Awardees are:

1. Outstanding Youth Leadership : Jeanette Snapp

2. Outstanding Business Leader: Frank Rizotti

3. Outstanding Leadership in Music: Noel Bolen

4. Outstanding Sinclair Student: Jonathan Parks

5. The Willis “Bing” Davis Lifetime Achievement Award: Talbert Groom

6. Rev. Edward Puff Outstanding Service: Tamala Disney

7. Rev. Bright Outstanding Religious Outreach: Memorial Presbyterian Church LEC Volunteers

8. Outstanding Sinclair Employee: Nora Adams

9. Wayne White Appalachian Goodwill Ambassador: Leslie Sheward

10. Outstanding Government Leader: Nan Whaley

11. Outstanding Public Service: Colette Moorman

12. Outstanding Education Leader: Kim Harnett

13. Bob Evans Appalachian Humanitarian Award: John Bryant

See the attachment for bios on each award recipient.

Additionally, a new award, The Carol Baugh Cultural Heritage Award, was established and awarded this year to Dr. Baugh for her exceptional efforts in bringing Appalachian history and cultural awareness to Sinclair and the Dayton area.

Congratulations to all the deserving award recipients!