Faculty Senate Meeting

                                                             September 12, 2007


Officers attending: Nick Reeder, President; William Boyko, Vice-President; Susan Callender, Secretary


Senators attending:  Cindy Schoonover, Georgann Enright, Jim Shimko,

Tom Singer, Dave Stover, Moez Ben-azzouz, Eric Kraus, Nolan Long, Luis Gonzalez


Senators not attending:  Derek Allen, Amanda Romero

Others Attending:  Shari Rethman, Billie Sanders

Nick called the meeting to order at 2:40 in room 7L21


  1. Nick opened the meeting with introductions from the members; afterwards he reviewed the procedure used to conduct Senate meetings, and the ground rules for Senators and Committee Representatives.  

*A Motion was passed establishing fall quarter Senate meetings on the following Wednesdays: Sept. 12, Sept. 26, Oct. 17, Oct. 24, and Nov. 7.

     2.   As a result of the nine hours reduction in Senate officers reassigned time, the

           quarterly reassigned time will be: President- 5 hours; Vice-President- 3 hours;

           Secretary- 2 hours.  There was some discussion by the Senators as to whether

           Senate wanted to recommend something concerning the way budget changes are

           being made.

  1. Senators discussed surveying the faculty  to determine their interest in additional

information on collective bargaining.  *A Motion  passed to conduct a faculty interest survey on collective bargaining and faculty governance; depending on the results of the survey, Senate will host a follow up meeting with outside speakers  who are qualified to address the advantages and disadvantages of collective bargaining in higher education



  1. In the past, Board Committee meetings were open to faculty Senators; however,

they are now closed to Senators; Nick has not yet received a decision

from the Board on Senate’s request to make the meetings open again


  1. Nick relayed an inquiry from Dr. Grove as to whether faculty would object to       having a faculty member serve as chairperson of the Academic Policies Committee.  Senate felt that this arrangement would be acceptable, as long as this faculty chairperson is elected by the committee’s members.


  1. The 2006-2007 Faculty Assembly FINISH Line Scholarships were awarded to seven recipients.  For further information about the scholarship and the seven students who received the scholarship, see the Alumni Foundations website.  


  1. After discussion on a possible change by Distance Learning in  testing students       taking online math courses, and other issues concerning faculty instruction and

     student learning, Jim Shimko, Moez Ben-azzouz and Eric Kraus volunteered to

      spearhead an Ad Hoc Committee  to research these kinds of issues .                                               

. * A Motion passed that an Ad Hoc Committee be formed to research issues        concerning Distance Learning and how these issues effect faculty instruction and student learning.


  1. *  A Motion was postponed to abolish Faculty Learning Day ; senators will solicit

          more feedback from their constituents.


           The meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.

            The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, September 26, 2007, Rm 7342