Faculty Senate Minutes

                                                                   May 7, 2008



Officers attending: Nick Reeder, President; Bill Boyko, Vice-President; Susan Callender, Secretary


Senators attending: Cindy Schoonover, Georgann Enright, Derek Allen, Jim Shimko,

Tom Singer, Moez Ben-azzouz, Eric Kraus, Amanda Romero, Nolan Long, Luis Gonzalez, Dave Stover


Senators not attending: none


Others attending:  Laurel Mayer, Shari Rethman, Karl Hess, Ken Kohlenberg, Brenda Seufert, Dean Cole, Gwendolyn Jones, Saundra Schuster


Nick called the meeting to order at 2:30 in rm. 7-L21.



1.  Approval of the minutes 

     Faculty Senate Minutes for April 23, 2008 were approved.


2.  Nick asked the senators and visitors to introduce themselves.  Afterwards, he summarized why

     Brenda Seufert, College Ombudsman; Dean Cole, Senior Director, Student and Academic Support

     Services, and Gwendolyn Jones, Manager, Student Leadership Development and Student Judicial

     Affairs were invited . 

     Dean Cole discussed the due process that students must undergo when a complaint on conduct occurs. 

     In most instances, the first step is to contact Dean Cole; however, the Sinclair campus police may also

     be contacted.  The visitors agreed that early intervention is critical. Gwendolyn Jones said that her

     office has a power point presentation for faculty on disruptive classroom behavior.  Saundra

     Schuster, Mary Gaier, Charles Gift, and Tom Huguley are the members of the Behavior Assessment

     Team. This team provides early intervention regarding disturbing (disruptive) student behavior in order

     to have a quicker alternative to the institutional process.  An email will be sent to faculty to introduce

     this team and their charge.


     Derek Allen briefly summarized the Finance sub committee meeting that he attended.


     Nick encouraged senators to email their constituents to remind them to vote on the

     two changes in the constitution and bylaws.  * Motion- The electronic voting will end May 16th

     at 12:00a.m.  *The motion passed.

     Nick also stated that the Board does not want to listen to and approve the list of faculty names that have

     been promoted, received merit, and gained tenure; the Board wants to relinquish this power

     to the President.  Senators discussed the pros and cons of this matter.


     Luis Gonzalez summarized the feedback he and Derek Allen received concerning the preliminary

     plan for the faculty information sessions on college governance models. Senators agreed that

     every effort should be made to maintain a balanced tone in the sessions.


     Bill Boyko’s recommendation for an annual faculty evaluation of the performance of Chairs and

     Deans was tabled until the next senate meeting


The meeting adjourned at 4:15.


The next senate meeting will be Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 2:30 in rm. 7-L21.