Faculty Senate Minutes

                                                January 30, 2008



Officers attending:  Nick Reeder, President; William Boyko, Vice-President; Susan Callender, Secretary


Senators attending:  Jim Shimko, Cindy Schoonover, Amanda Romero, Georgann Enright, Nolan Long, Dave Stover, Eric Kraus, Tom Singer


Senators not attending:  Derek Allen, Luis Gonzalez, Moez Ben-azzouz


Others attending:  Shari Rethman


Nick called the meeting to order at 2:30 in rm. 7342


1.  Approval of Minutes                                                                                                                                                                              
     Minutes for the Faculty Senate meeting of January 16, 2008 were approved as revised



2. President’s Report

    Nick discussed the tentative agenda for the winter faculty assembly, and after some

    discussion the agenda was finalized.


    Senate recommended that the Retrenchment committee be reactivated; Dr. Grove plans

    to meet with the committee and discuss several pertinent documents with them.

    Susan Callender will be a member of the Retrenchment committee and the liaison

    between senate and the committee; Nolan Long is also a member of this committee.


   The 2007-2008 Academic Calendar was reviewed; all classes will begin each quarter

   on a Monday. The 2007-2008 Academic Calendar is available on the Sinclair’s



   The Faculty Senate ad hoc Committee on Governance Models, distributed a summary  

   review of five faculty governance models currently used in colleges; a discussion

   followed. Members of the Senate sub committee on research are:  Bill Boyko, Cindy

   Schoonover, Tom Singer and Shari Rethman.


   Nick summarized the current work of the Faculty Issues Team.  The three main   

   areas the team is working on are:  the state of the current agreement; early

   retirement packages and faculty compensation models.


   Jim Shimko suggested that the committee for revising the FPR instrument share

   information, and solicit input regularly from the senate and the faculty at large;

   Senate directed Nick to relay this suggestion to the committee’s chairperson,

   Cindy Beckett.




   Cindy Schoonover shared the recommended revision of the bylaws concerning the  

   election of senators and the number of years for a senator’s term in office.

   Senate recommended that the faculty bylaws be changed to reflect that three senators     

   be elected from each division for a three year term.




    The meeting adjourned at 4:10




    The winter Faculty Assembly meeting will be February 6, 2008 at 3:00 in rm. 4011.


    The next senate meeting will be February 13, 2008 at 2:30 in rm.7342.